• Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 1 other subscriber
  • Visits to The Watson's Blog

    • 20,815 visits
  • Archives

  • Latest Comments

    My Ears Hurt «… on Productivity
    On Call « A Fi… on Bad Luck
    Lauren Watson on 2 More Days!!!
    theophilogue on 2 More Days!!!
    bobbi on 5 Years Ago Today

Bad Luck

I have vowed to never work on my birthday or anniversary again. Work is bad luck for me on special days. We all know that I had a horrible work day on my birthday. So I head into work yesterday, on my 3 year wedding anniversary. Busy day with delivering babies. However, we slowed down around 6 pm so they let me go home to start my anniversary night a little earlier. I hopped on my bike, giddy as could be because I was surprising Chad. He had no clue that I had left work a little early. I got about 5 minutes down the road and crashed my bike into a curb and flew over the handles. I called Chad immediately because I knew I wouldn’t be able to make it home. I caught myself with both wrists. I have scrapes on both wrists/hands to wear I’m having to protect them with guaze and tape to decrease the risks of being exposed to infection. My left knee is bandaged and I bruised my left hip and shoulder. Poor Chad… he’s had to deal with me hobbling around and taking it slow. It’s not fun at all. So happy anniversary to my sweet husband. We still did go out and grab some pizza down on Bardstown Road but I was in bed and elevating my knee as soon as we got home. We’re headed to a cookout at Cherokee Park tonight so it doesn’t look like I’ll be enjoying playing frisbee with everybody else. Oh well. It could’ve been worse. I’m definitely thanking my blessings. But I’m selfishly praying that my knee will feel okay by next week so I can start my marathon training. So pray I will heal quickly. I’m not too fond of the idea of having open wounds at work. Labor and Delivery nurses come in too much contact with bodily fluids. Until next time… hopefully no more accidents.

P.S. Many thanks to my sweet friends at work who kept me bandaged and clean.

Right wrist before bandaging.

Left hand.

Left Knee.

All bandaged up. Right wrist, left hand and left knee.

3 Responses

  1. […] I don’t yet know and whom don’t yet know me, you can read about my bicycle accident here for a game of catch up. Back to what I was saying… I laced up my New Balance’s and hit […]

  2. […] wrong with my bike.  I don’t really feel like it’s ever been the same since I had my bike accident back in July and this morning I felt like I was truly trudging through mud to get to work.  I was […]

  3. […] and boy am I in love.  My left ankle had been giving me problems since last July after I had my bike accident so I was pumped to get some running shoes that supported my ankles in a great way.  I was so […]

Leave a comment